Apply to Stone Ridge

Upper School Admissions Process

Step 1 • Learn more about Stone Ridge

Let us know of your interest in Stone Ridge by completing our inquiry form. Doing so will ensure that you receive updates regarding Stone Ridge and our application process. You will receive a username and password via email to begin your application. If you have previously applied to Stone Ridge, go to the admissions portal and use your current SR username and password.

Step 2 • Register for a Discovery Day

A Stone Ridge Discovery Day provides prospective students the opportunity to visit classes, meet students, and faculty, and tour our campus.  Our Discovery Day dates for this fall are:

  • Monday, September 26
  • Thursday, September 29
  • Monday, October 3
  • Wednesday, October 5
  • Tuesday, October 25
  • Wednesday, November 2
  • Tuesday, November 8
  • Monday, November 14
  • Tuesday, November 15
  • Tuesday, November 29
  • Thursday, December 1

​​​​​Online registration is required and will begin on September 1. Please contact Lisa Zingone at 301.657.4322 ext. 1618 with any questions.  

Step 3 • Schedule an Interview

Interviews will be scheduled following Discovery Day registration. 

Step 4 • Attend an Open House (Grades 9-12)
  • Sunday, October 16, 2022
Step 5 • Submit the application online
  • Deadline for Grade 9 students is December 2, 2022.
  • For all other grades, please contact Lisa Zingone.
Step 6 • Submit transcript
Step 7 • Schedule testing

For the 2022-23 application, Stone Ridge will administer an independent assessment for all Upper School applicants. Prospective students who have completed an application will be invited to register for one of the following dates:

  • Saturday, November 12
  • Saturday, December 3

The assessment will consist of an exercise that focuses on reading comprehension, verbal reasoning and writing skills.  While the assessment is not timed, we expect it to take approximately one hour.  

Step 8 • Submit teacher recommendations
Two recommendations are required: one from your current math teacher, and one from your current English teacher; the third recommendation is optional.

Important note to Grade 9 applicants currently attending a parish school in the Archdiocese of Washington: The above forms do not apply to your application as Stone Ridge accepts the Catholic High School Student Information Form in lieu of our standard recommendation forms.

Step 9 • Admissions decisions

Decisions will be posted to the admissions portal on Friday, February 24, 2023 after 4:00 pm.

Need Assistance?

Our Admission team is here to help you through the application process. Meet our team and contact us with any questions. We are always happy to help.